For Residents & Medical Students

The Hofstra Norrth Shore-LIJ Department of Neurosurgery program, located at North Shore University Hospital (NSUH), is staffed by a dedicated team of neurosurgeons, neurologists and specialists. Each facility has an Intensive Care unit, including a dedicated 16-bed Neurosurgical ICU at NSUH. These units are staffed by full-time intensivists. With Dr. Michael Schulder, Vice Chair, Neurosurgery and Residency Program Director for ACGME-approved residency training.  Dr. Raj Narayan, Professor and Chair, Department of Neurosurgery and Senior Vice President and Executive Director, Cushing Neuroscience Institute, will lead neurosciences through program expansions and ground-breaking initiatives.

With Dr. Paul Wright as Department Chair, the Department of Neurology's adult neurology residency program is considered among the most competitive neurology training programs nationally. Our fellowship programs in clinical neurophysiology and vascular neurology are ACGME accredited and train future leaders in their respective fields. The success of these teaching programs is due, in a large part, to the dedication of our faculty and residents, who are all committed to teaching excellence.

Neurosurgery Grand Rounds are given on Tuesdays, 7:30 am to 8:30 am and are often presented by visiting professors and a variety of other speakers. Case Conference takes place on Fridays, 7:30 am to 8:30 am. Spine, cerebrovascular and pediatrics topics rotate on a weekly basis. Neurology Grand Rounds are given on Fridays, 8:30 am to 9:30 am.